SBRMGA Club Championship

Flight winners Bruce Crawford, Jeff Silver, Steve Schneck, and BJ Shultz

Richard Osterlund, MGA president, presenting the Club Championship trophy and the champion’s belt to Ron Stenhouse.

Tom Graham

In a year of COVID and course improvements, the SaddleBrooke Ranch Men’s Golf Association (SBRMGA) was still able to conduct its premier event—the Club Championship Nov. 3 and 4. The Club Championship is a two-day low gross tournament. It’s open to all full members with a separate championship flight, and four additional flights narrowly matching the course handicaps of the golfers in each flight. The championship flight was open to members wishing to declare to compete to be Club Champion. Nineteen members declared for the championship flight.

Our 2021 Club Champion is Ron Stenhouse, shooting a sterling two-day 160 of 80/80. The competition within the flight was tense, with Patrick Fancher one shot back and Bill Oprish and John Whitehead a mere two shots back.

The Bryson DeChambeau Flight winner, BJ Shultz, carded a 164, winning the flight by one stroke over Mike Chonle and four golfers two strokes back: Mike Eby, Tim Chamberlin, Dennis Johnson, and Rich Hanson.

The Dustin Johnson Flight winner, Steve Schneck, recorded a slick 164, besting the second-place finisher, Steve Laak, by four strokes. And next in line another stroke back was Larry Tipton.

The John Rahm Flight was a shootout between two long-time buddies. Jeff Silver prevailed with a 172 one stroke victory over Sam Rossi, with Tim McCauley and Richard Osterlund four strokes back.

The winner of the Brooks Koepka Flight was Bruce Crawford with a runaway 169, besting second place Ed Robertson by seven strokes and third place Bill Mihal by 11 strokes.