SBRMGA Updegraff Cup Another Impressive Event

Champion Mark Whims with his trophy and award presented by Tom Graham

Sr. Champion Steve Thomson receiving his award presented by Tom Graham

Tom Graham

The SaddleBrooke Ranch Men’s Golf Association (SBRMGA) 2023 Updegraff Cup was held April 19 and 20. In 2022 Dr. Ed Updegraff, one of the two or three most-celebrated amateur golfers in America, endorsed our Club Championship through the renaming of the event, The Updegraff Cup. It is our premier low gross tournament of the year. The field for the two-day tournament totaled 92 entrants. Our multiday special events continue to attract from 90 to 110 participants. This year, in addition to the Championship flight, a Senior Championship flight from an alternate tee was introduced. Together 20 members competed for these titles. This compares to the 25 members competing in 2022 for the sole Champion’s title. Five additional flights were populated by narrowly matching the playing handicaps of the members within each flight.

Our 2023 Updegraff Cup Champion, Mark Whims, defended his 2022 Championship. His sterling 151 two-day total was just enough. Regrouping on his 18th hole after losing 6 strokes of his lead over the previous two holes he held the field at bay. Four competitors finished within 4 strokes of Mark’s winning total. Tied for second was Patrick Fancher and Bill Borden at 153. In fourth was Bill Oprish at 154 and in fifth was Bruce Haney at 155. Congratulations to all on a performance to be remembered.

The 2023 Senior Champion, Steve Thomson, survived a tight 1-stroke differential after day one, building a 3-stroke cushion through day two with a tournament low round of 72. Steve set the pace at 148 over the two days. Close behind in second was Ron Knapp at 151. Following in third place was Jim Strachan at 156 and tied for fourth at 159 were Jim Mulhall and Bob Christianson. Congratulations to everyone.

The Flight 1 winner, Doug Redfield, carded a 153, coming from behind with a flight leading 74 on day two and winning the flight by 3 strokes over John DeYoung. Another stroke back in third place was Hal Peabody with Hobie Richards fast on his heels at 158. Finishing fifth was Todd Pratt at 163.

Flight 2 was a hotly contested flight. The winner, Greg Byrne carded a 158. Bunched behind Greg just two strokes and tied for second were Brian Grover and Andee Heaberlin. On their heels at fourth was Harley Schlachter, but a single stroke back. Tied for fifth, another stroke back were Brian Dzekute and Joe Camillucci. Four strokes first to fifth—a barn burner.

Flight 3 was a dog fight. Day one ended with Tom Merrick and Dave Hansel tied at 81. Day two separated them by but a single stroke. Tom carded a 163 and Dave a 164 for the two days. Following in third was Ed Robertson with the best Flight 3, day two score of 79, and Paul Knott and Matt Nelson tied for fourth at 170. A tight flight with strong performances.

Mike McManus carded a consistent 80 and 81 to finish in first place at 161 in Flight 4. Following Mike in second place was Lou Mastro and another stroke back was Kevin Stackis at 167. Tied for fourth were Alan Ness and Rand Hill.

Flight 5 was also dominated by consistent play. Bill Hawk with a two-day 171 finished first. Larry Bickelhaupt secured second place with a third place tie between Scott Thordarson and Ken De Leo. In fifth place alone was Dave Cacci.

We extend our thanks to our Special Events Chairman, Paul Berry. A well-run tournament in near perfect weather. Paul, the pressure is on for the rest of the year. Additionally, our rules and scoring teams as well as our scribes and our participating members make our special event tournaments perennial successes.

Thanks to all.