Champions Dinner—A Tradition Begins

Mick Borm offering a toast to our champions

Tom Graham

Each year on Tuesday evening during Masters Week, a Champions Dinner is held. Tradition holds that the host is the prior year’s winner who selects the menu and pays the tab. This year the champions from the Updegraff Cup and the previously named SaddleBrooke Ranch Men’s Golf Association (SBRMGA) Club Championship gathered for dinner. Our champions included Paul Lapotosky 2013; Mark Martin 2014; Bob Christianson 2016; Steve Thomson 2017, 2020, and Senior 2023; Jeff Pharr 2018 and 2019; Ron Stenhouse 2021; and Mark Whims 2022 and 2023. They gathered for dinner at the Ranch House Grill and Brewery on April 27, 2023. Absent from the dinner was Bruce Deverman, the 2015 champion.

Unlike the Masters Champions dinner where the prior year’s champion selects a menu most often reflective of their country of origin or local history, our champions feasted on meals selected from our local menu. The evening kicked off with brief comments and a toast by Mick Borm. Then the storytelling began. Stories of each year and of our MGA were plentiful.

Our thanks go to Jeff Pharr for assembling this event. Here’s looking forward to continued years of new champions celebrating., 85% of the treatment group reported successful penetration, and 80% were able to maintain an erection suitable for intercourse.