SBRMGA Member/Member Tournament Recap

The SaddleBrooke Ranch Men’s Golf Association (SBRMGA) Member/Member Tournament unfolded over two thrilling days, commencing on Feb. 29 and concluding on March 1. With an impressive turnout of enthusiastic members, this year’s event was nothing short of exceptional.

In both the Pine Flight and the Long Combo Flight, the competition was fierce, with mere strokes separating the top contenders. In a remarkable turn of events, Newberg/Sitek staged a remarkable comeback on Day Two, overtaking the initially dominant leaders, Carter/Shelton, by a single stroke to clinch victory in the Pine Flight. Not far behind, Happ and Pohler secured third place, trailing Carter/Shelton by just one stroke. Notably, Happ/Pohler’s stellar performance included carding the lowest back nine score, matching Stenhouse/Harrington’s impressive round of 70. A commendable feat in such a challenging format!

In the Long Combo Flight, the formidable duo of Noble/Rossi displayed exceptional resilience, fending off a strong challenge from Harvey/Cothran, who posted an impressive 30/71 on one round. However, Noble/Rossi maintained their composure, delivering a solid 71 on the back nine to secure victory by a single stroke. Meanwhile, Mastro (go Matadors)/Flynn demonstrated consistency throughout, finishing a close third.

Day Two witnessed a spectacular performance from Hartman/Schneck, who, after a somewhat ordinary start, delivered an outstanding display to dominate the field. Tying with Harvey/Cothran for the lowest round on the front nine with a remarkable score of 30, they proceeded to showcase their prowess with an exceptional 68 on the back nine, mastering the extremely challenging 2 Best Balls format. Their total score of 167 propelled them to victory in their flight, boasting an impressive lead of eight strokes over Lechtenberg/Lewis and nine strokes over Lake/Leben, both of whom demonstrated unwavering consistency across both days.

In the Rust Flight, Leyburn/Thordarson embodied the spirit of consistency, securing victory with a total score of 177. Their steady performance proved to be the winning formula, as they edged past Bickelhaupt/Rodgers by a margin of two strokes and Foster/Garrison by three strokes. Despite Larry’s team falling short of victory, their second-place finish was undoubtedly commendable. The challenges of the back nine tested the mettle of all competitors, yet Leyburn/Thordarson’s resolute effort, culminating in a score of 73, proved sufficient to claim victory.

The tournament also saw some impressive shots in the Closest to the Pin contest, with notable winners on both days:

Day 1:

* Hole 2: Jeff McPheeters

* Hole 5: Jim Mulhall

* Hole 12: Dan Foster

* Hole 14: Dan Carter

Day 2:

* Hole 2: Andy Heaberlin

* Hole 5: Bill Borden

* Hole 12: Mark Pohler

* Hole 14: Kevin Stackis

Congratulations to all participants for their outstanding performances, and a special acknowledgment to the winners for their exceptional skill and determination!