SBRWGA 2020 President’s Cup Tournament Winners

Carol Mihal

With brisk mornings during two beautiful days of golf on Feb. 18 and 19, ladies of the SaddleBrooke Women’s Golf Association (SBRWGA) competed in the first major golf tournament of 2020, the President’s Cup. This tournament is a two-day low net tournament where the winner is commemorated on a perpetual plaque in the trophy case, and she receives a nice prize. As our community continues to grow, so does participation in the SBRWGA. With 50 women participating in this year’s President’s Cup, it was clearly the largest group ever to compete in this event.

At the end of the first day, Lee Rinke led all golfers with a low net 66 score. She was followed by Karen Jordan with a net 67, and both Jeanne Osterlund and Marci Whitehead had net scores of 68. Six other players also posted net scores under par.

Six ladies posted below net scores on day two, with only three women able to score under par net on both days. Ultimately, the winner of the two-day event was Marci Whitehead, with a two-day net score of 137. Five other ladies had two-day net scores under par, all within five strokes of Marci’s winning score!

Overall President’s Cup Winner was Marci Whitehead.

Flight Winners

1st Flight: 1st place, Karen Jordan; 2nd place, Trisha Kelly; 3rd place, Shirley Purcell

2nd Flight: 1st place, Terri Movius; 2nd place, Colleen Carey; tied for 3rd place, Sterlyn Robertson and Debbie Shelton

3rd Flight: 1st place, Jeanne Osterlund; tied for 2nd place, Pilar Borm and Carole Erickson

4th Flight: 1st place, Lee Rinke; 2nd place, Mindy Hawkins; 3rd place, Deb Lawson

5th Flight: 1st place, Cheri Alfrey; 2nd place, Susan Pharr; 3rd place, Bonnie Stark

6th Flight: 1st place, Kay Johnson; 2nd place, Stephanie Gaskill; 3rd place, Mary Anderson

Thank you to Mindy Hawkins (and her committee of Carole Erickson, Charlotte Graham, CJ Kerley, and Bonnie Stark) for organizing the prizes and a wonderful luncheon, and to Lorraine Smith for setting up pairings, flights, and organizing the golf portion of the tournament. Everyone did a great job! Special thanks to our Golf Pros Mike Jahaske and Ken Steinke, for their assistance with scoring and for their donations.

A tremendous thank you to our sponsor for this event, Kim Tucker, M.D., of Northwest Allied Orthopedics. Your generous donation helped make this event extra special!