SBRWGA Hosts the Sadie Hawkins Invitational

Lorraine Smith

It was a beautiful but warm day on Aug. 30 for the SaddleBrooke Ranch Women’s Golf Association (SBRWGA) 2022 Sadie Hawkins Invitational! Thirty-two ladies and their partners played in the Best Ball Event.

A big thanks to Marcie Whitehead, social chair, and her team of Carole Ericksen, Evie Thompson, and Karen Oprish for planning the table decorations and delicious lunch. Diane Taylor, tournament chair, and our golf pros, Mike Jahaske and Ken Steinke, also played a big role in hosting this fun event.

Susan Pharr, playday chair, divided the field into four flights, which paid out four places in each flight. Winners were awarded Pro Shop credit for their scoring efforts. Scorecard playoffs had to be done in some cases to establish winners, with some places requiring six steps back in the USGA protocol. Our winners by flight were:

Rumba Flight

1st: Phyllis Pettijohn and Randy Graham, 63

2nd: Charlotte Graham and Terry Pettijohn, 69

3rd: Susan Ness and Mike Healy, 71

4th: Stephanie Gaskill and Rick Wright, 71

Foxtrot Flight

1st: Marge Rodgers and Vincent Fung, 67

2nd: Kay Johnson and Tom First, 68

3rd: Deb Lawson and Alan Ness, 70

4th: Sue Wells and John DeYoung, 70

Jitterbug Flight

1st: Karen Oprish and Eric Taylor, 67

2nd: Jennifer Valverde and Bruce Haney, 67

3rd: Karen Jordan and Bj Schultz, 68

4th: Trish Kelly and Tom Graham, 69

Charleston Flight

1st: Monika Bartko and Doug Redfield, 68

2nd: Susanne Schuster and Tom Flynn, 69

3rd: Barb Simms and Dan Coughlin, 69

4th: Susan Pharr and Steve Thomson, 71

We had two Closest to the Pins:

#14: Karen Jordan

#12: Mark Drake

If you are interested in joining the SaddleBrooke Ranch’s Women’s Golf Association, contact Jeanne Jensen, membership chair, at [email protected].